Show menu
Check in Feedback

Randy Brecker & NDR Bigband - Rocks (2019) [Jazzline Records; Flac/Mp3]


Genre: Contemporary Jazz, Big Band, Fusion
Quality: MP3 CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks,log,cue)
Size: 145 / 427 Mb
Label: Jazzline Records
Catalogue Number: N 77057
Total Time: 01:03:17

1. FIrst Tune of the Set (feat. Fiete Felsch & Vladyslav Sendecki) (08:09)
2. Adina (feat. Ada Rovatti, Wolfgang Haffner & Marcio Doctor) (06:17)
3. Squids (feat. Frank Delle) (06:38)
4. Pastoral (feat. Ada Rovatti, Edgar Herzog, Frank Delle, Björn Berger & Christian Diener) (07:22)
5. The Dipshit (feat. David Sanborn) (06:22)
6. Above and Below (feat. Ada Rovatti & Wolfgang Haffner) (07:32)
7. Sozinho (feat. Vladyslav Sendecki) (07:26)
8. Rocks (feat. David Sanborn) (06:54)
9. Threesome (feat. David Sanborn & Bruno Müller) (06:33)

Randy Brecker has been at the forefront of jazz since the late 1960s. His debut album as leader way back in 1969 was Score (Solid State). In addition to numerous albums under his own name he's also recorded with George Benson, Duke Pearson, Dreams and Larry Coryell's Eleventh House, to name just a few. But perhaps he is best known for the albums he produced with his younger brother, the late Michael Brecker as The Brecker Brothers. Lest people forget what a significant force of nature the BBs were, Stuart Nicholson in his book Jazz-Rock: A History, described the Breckers' horn lines as becoming "the model for countless fusion bands in the 1980s and 1990s."

So this recording, made with the NDR Big Band in January 2017 and May 2018, revives fond memories of the Breckers' illustrious outfit by including within the nine track selection no fewer than five tracks originally recorded by the brothers. Another three tracks are taken from Randy Brecker's The Brecker Brothers Band Reunion (Piloo, 2013) namely "First Tune Of The Set," "Adina" and "The Dipshit." The exception to this is "Pastoral" which Brecker originally wrote as a elegiac tribute to the late Jaco Pastorius (with whom he recorded two albums) and which was first released on his 2001 record Hangin' In The City (ESC Records). This is a sumptuous outing with Brecker's flugelhorn playing at its most lyrical.

The brash opener, "First Tune Of The Set," the brass embellished by chirruping synth, is followed by the relatively stately pace of "Adina" with Brecker delivering a majestic flugelhorn solo and Ada Rovatti following with a lissom soprano solo. The BB funk of "Squids" from Don't Stop The Music (Arista, 1977) still has those unmistakable hooks, revivified by the orchestra and a meaty tenor solo by Frank Delle. "The Dipshit," a Latin-esque romp, features a soaring alto solo by BB alumnus David Sanborn. Reassuringly, over the course of half a century, Brecker has lost none of his superlative virtuosity as evidenced by his rivetingly ebullient trumpet solos on, for example, "Above And Below" and the title track taken from the brothers' eponymous debut album (Arista, 1975) replete with its trademark funky clavinet. With auspicious augmentation courtesy of the magnificent NDR Big Band, this album is, in effect, a Brecker Brothers redux, with bells on.

Download Randy Brecker & NDR Bigband - Rocks (2019) [Jazzline Records; Flac/Mp3]

Tags: Randy Brecker 2019 Fusion Jazz Big Band
Similar albums
Genre: Contemporary Jazz, Fusion, Big Band Quality: MP3 CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks,log,cue) Size: 145 / 427 Mb Label: Jazzline Records Catalogue Number: N 77057 Total Time: 01:03:17 Tracklist 1.
Genre: Jazz Fusion Quality: MP3 CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks,log,cue) Size: 107 / 268 Mb Label: L'autre Distribution Catalogue Number: LD 7/1 Total Time: 00:45:25 Tracklist 1. Les oiseaux (feat.
Composer, oboist, flutist, and vibraphonist, Christian Paboeuf has brilliantly illustrated himself in musical creation for theater and cinema concerts. Wanting to reconnect directly with the public,