Show menu
Check in Feedback

Maja S. K. Ratkje - Sult (2019) [Rune Grammofon; Flac/Mp3]


Genre: Avant-Folk, Modern Classical, Jazz, Experimental, Female Vocal
Quality: MP3 CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks,log,cue)
Size: 94 / 210 Mb
Label: Rune Grammofon
Catalogue Number: RCD 2204CD
Total Time: 00:41:10

1. Introduksjon – Denne Forunderlige By (05:30)
2. Sjå, Åmioda – Og Ikke En Lyd Kom Mig Fra Strupen (04:27)
3. Den Sprættende Bevægelse Min Fot Gjør Hver Gang Pulsen Slår (07:34)
4. Sayago – En Sådan Glidende Lyd (03:15)
5. En Træflis Å Tygge På (03:17)
6. Øine Som Råsilke, Armer Av Rav (05:47)
7. Et Hvitt Fyrtårn Midt I Et Grumset Menneskehav Hvor Vrak Fløt Om (04:12)
8. Jeg Fornemmer Mine Sko Som En Sagte Susende Tone Imot Meg (03:31)
9. Kristiania (03:38)

Based upon Ratkje´s music created for the ballet ”Sult” (”Hunger") by profiled director Jo Strømgren for the Norwegian National Ballet, this is a departure from records and live settings normally associated with Maja S. K. Ratkje, as we find her placed behind a modified, wiggly and out of tune pump organ, singing songs and improvising. Metal tubes, PVC tubes and a wind machine were built into the organ; guitar strings, a bass string, a resin thread, metal and glass percussion and a bow are also utilized. With little or no previous experience, she had to learn to play the thing live, using both hands and feet at the same time as singing. Maja played live on stage during every performance, but later modified and recorded the music especially for this record, with Frode Haltli co-producing. It´s a freestanding document, an entity of its own, but the atmosphere is very much the same as in the play: the dusty city of Kristiania in the 19th century, the street noises and the sounds. ”Hunger” is Norwegian author Knut Hamsun´s breakthrough novel from 1890. Partly autobiographical, it describes a starving young man´s struggle to make it as a writer in Kristiania (now Oslo). It has been said that the whole modern school of fiction starts with "Hunger", with it´s themes around mental states and the irrationality of the human mind.

Download Maja S. K. Ratkje - Sult (2019) [Rune Grammofon; Flac/Mp3]

Tags: Maja S. K. Ratkje Rune Grammofon Jazz Vocal Jazz Avant-Garde Jazz 2019 Classical Modern Classical
Similar albums
Terre Thaemlitz developed the present pieces for and with zeitkratzer. The starting points were Thaemlitz’ releases „means from an end“ and „couture cosmetique“, which present him as an electro
As brilliant as their previous album "Enter" is, with "Ritual" they have outdone themselves and produced a beast of beauty and power, extremely well executed, beautifully recorded and produced from
"Recorded live in the South of France as part of the ""Moondog Season"", the new album from the 13-member Neo-Bigband, Initiative H, highlights the work ""Sax Pax for a Sax"" by composer Moondog,