Show menu
Check in Feedback

Kronos Quartet - Placeless (feat. Mahsa Vahdat & Marjan Vahdat) (2019) [Kirkelig Kulturverksted; Flac/Mp3]


Genre: Classical, World, Vocal
Quality: MP3 CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks,log,cue)
Size: 121 / 268 Mb
Label: Kirkelig Kulturverksted
Catalogue Number: FXCD 457
Total Time: 00:52:41

1. Placeless (feat. Mahsa Vahdat) (03:14)
2. My Ruthless Companion (feat. Mahsa Vahdat & Marjan Vahdat) (03:19)
3. My Tresses in the Wind (feat. Marjan Vahdat) (03:33)
4. I Was Dead (feat. Mahsa Vahdat) (03:14)
5. Endless Embrace (feat. Mahsa Vahdat) (03:48)
6. Fate Astray (feat. Marjan Vahdat) (03:00)
7. The Sun Rises (feat. Mahsa Vahdat & Marjan Vahdat) (05:44)
8. Vanishing Lines (feat. Mahsa Vahdat) (05:29)
9. The Might of Love (feat. Mahsa Vahdat) (03:08)
10. Far Away Glance (feat. Marjan Vahdat) (03:15)
11. Leyli's Nightingales (feat. Mahsa Vahdat & Marjan Vahdat) (03:39)
12. The Color of Moonlight (feat. Mahsa Vahdat) (04:23)
13. Lover, Go Mad (feat. Marjan Vahdat) (03:26)
14. Eternal Meadow (feat. Mahsa Vahdat) (03:21)

Kronos is very excited to announce that the Norwegian record label Kirkelig Kulturverksted (KKV), in association with New York-based Valley Entertainment, will release Placeless on March 1, 2019. ” Placeless is the first collaboration between Kronos and Iranian singers Mahsa and Marjan Vahdat. Recorded in Oslo’s Kulturkirken Jakob in November 2018, the album features 14 songs composed by Mahsa Vahdat to classical poems by Hafez and Rumi and the works of contemporary Iranian poets Forough Farrokhzad, Mohammad Ibrahim Jafari and Vahdat’s husband Atabak Elyasi. Composers Sahba Aminikia, Aftab Darvishi, Jacob Garchik and Elyasi arranged the songs for string quartet.

Despite spanning a period of 800 years, even the oldest poems are still surprisingly relevant, showing how the human heart is always the same, regardless of time, place and culture. The album title Placeless references a well-known poem by Rumi from the 13th century:

I am not from the East, nor from the West
I am not from the land, nor from the sea

I am not from the world, not from beyond
My place is placelessness. My trace is tracelessness.

“This recording is a milestone for us,” says Mahsa Vahdat. “The wonderful musicians in Kronos Quartet have given our music new dimensions. Our lives are constantly changing in relation to time and place. Our home and where we belong - this is all over the globe. By performing poems from Persia’s classical era, we have been coming closer and closer to finding an organic connection between what we express in our art and the way we live.”

Commenting on the new release, Kronos’ artistic director, founder and violinist David Harrington states, “We’re always trying to learn as much as we can, and now, recording with Mahsa and Marjan, we sometimes are able to make sounds we have never before heard from our instruments.”

Download Kronos Quartet - Placeless (feat. Mahsa Vahdat & Marjan Vahdat) (2019) [Kirkelig Kulturverksted; Flac/Mp3]

Tags: Kronos Quartet Classical 2019 Vocal Modern Classical World
Similar albums
Genre: Vocal Jazz Quality: MP3 CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks,log,cue) Size: 834 / 1400 Mb Label: RCA Records Catalogue Number: RCA 07863 66353-2 Total Time: 06:04:14 Tracklist Disc 1 (01:11:27) 1. The
Genre: Contemporary Jazz, Ethnic Fusion Quality: MP3 CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks,log,cue) Size: 166 / 454 Mb Label: Music Box Publishing Catalogue Number: WDL01 Total Time: 01:12:26 Tracklist 1.
Genre: Jazz Fusion Quality: MP3 CBR 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks,log,cue) Size: 107 / 268 Mb Label: L'autre Distribution Catalogue Number: LD 7/1 Total Time: 00:45:25 Tracklist 1. Les oiseaux (feat.